Kothari ink settings for DTF P600 printer

15 hours ago, Judy said:

Can anyone help with the ink settings for DTF printing on an Epson SC P600. The colors are not coming out vibrant at all. Please Help!

What do you mean by vibrant? 

It’s not going to make colors “ pop”,  just how much ink gets put down to make those colors, too much ink makes it darker, and vise versa. I personally always started low on the ink settings and worked my may up. I’ve noticed with dtf it’s requires very little ink. 

I had a good print on my 2nd print, and tweaked from there moving forward and it’s been fine since. The first print was terrible, ink everywhere. Lol. 

Edited by johnson4

You can see on the image on the screen how bright everything is and how white the lettering is but when we do the print on the black shirt the white looks gray and the colors are just dull. I am new with Kothari  so can you explain where you make the changes on how much ink is put down. Currently, Choke is set at 98, Underbase at 60, and highlight at 20. Output color strength is at 80. Thank you for your help. 

261CD673-0778-48E8-82DE-1BE975804D49.jpeg

251F15E8-02ED-4BBD-AB8C-EB24DCF49E61.jpeg

The image below is not done with neon colors and you can see when the transfer was pressed on the shirt the colors are very dull. The hat should be yellow and the aliens should be more green. All the colors are dull. I have seen other people doing DTF with regular colors and the colors are very vibrant and we are not getting those results at all. 

20FB5471-3D9C-47AE-9347-45EA07F64E76.jpeg

I don't believe you can truly print vibrant neon colors with dtg/dtf. When I did screenprinting i used to buy special neon inks for that purpose. 

I found this color chart online (attached). Just print it and press on a shirt and pick the closest one in photoshop with the color picker to use with your artwork that closely matches your preference.  This way you don't waste film and minimize trial and error sample runs too.