Triggering UV LED on & off

Tstern83

Hey all,

I'm just starting out with my first flatbed, based on an Epson R2880. At this point I'm putting together a BOM so I can order everything and start building once it is all here. One of the 1st things I've ordered (foolishly or not) is a 50W UV LED module, can't remember the wavelength at this moment but  suited to what the ink supplier said it required. I also ordered a dimmable power supply.

The basic concept for triggering which I thought about is using two optical switches at each end of the travel but then I came to realize that the printer does not always travel the full distance because I might print on a smaller area. An accelerator comes to mind, however this feels like an overkill. Perhaps there's some digital signal in the printer that I can tap into and using a simple MCU (or even with just logic components) trigger on & off?

Thanks!

@ Tstern83: Really very nice UV printing system!!!!

Today i have received my Epson 1500W and i also plan to build UV light system because i want to print on objects, not on garment. Unfortunately there is not so much information available for UV light printing. Can you help me as a newbie with your experience to clarify some basic UV light questions???

1. Where to get the UV light to be used in the printer? Any shop in EU/Germany?

2. Is it necessary to place the UV light in the printer beside the printing head or would it be also possible to use normal UV light (e.g. as used for nail polish) for curing outside of the printer. Is this mandatory to cure immediately inside the printer or just to increase the productivity speed?

3. Which UV ink and UV light can you recommend for Epson 1500W printer?

4. Is there also other non UV light based ink available which could be used to print on objects? Or is UV ink the best and only solution for this task?

Many thanks in advance for your answers!!

Chris

• 1 year later...
On 2/6/2019 at 9:08 AM, reptilesink said: